Canada Gives eTA Access to 13 countries, including 3 Caribbean CBI Nations

Canada Gives eTA Access to Thirteen Countries

On June 6, 2023, the Honourable Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, made a significant announcement concerning the inclusion of an additional 13 countries in Canada’s electronic travel authorization (eTA) program, including Caribbean CBI nations Antigua & Barbuda, Saint Lucia and Saint Kitts and Nevis.

This change enables travellers from these nations, who have been granted a Canadian visa within the past decade or those currently in possession of a valid non-immigrant United States visa, to opt for an eTA in place of a traditional visa when they choose to fly to Canada.

The added countries are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina 
  • Costa Rica 
  • Morocco 
  • Panama 
  • Philippines 
  • St. Kitts and Nevis 
  • St. Lucia 
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines 
  • Seychelles 
  • Thailand 
  • Trinidad and Tobago 
  • Uruguay

What is an eTA?

The Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) is an entry requirement for visa-exempt foreign nationals traveling to certain countries by air. It is an automated system that determines the eligibility of visitors to travel to a specific country, primarily to enhance border security. It is not a visa in the traditional sense but serves a similar purpose.

An eTA is electronically linked to a traveler’s passport and is valid for a certain period or until the passport expires. Applying for an eTA is a straightforward and fast process, with applications being made online and usually being approved within minutes or hours of submission.

Major Boost to Three Caribbean CBI Programs

Canada’s reputation as a highly desirable destination for travel and residence is well-founded. Its strong economy, high standard of living, and culturally diverse and inclusive society make it an attractive proposition for many. With the recent expansion of the eTA program, investing in Citizenship by Investment (CBI) programs of select countries can now open the gateway to seamless, visa-free access to Canada.

The CBI programs of St. Kitts and Nevis, Antigua and Barbuda, and St. Lucia are now more beneficial than ever. Here is why these programs have just become an even more compelling option for investors:

  1. St. Kitts and Nevis: Known for its robust CBI program, St. Kitts and Nevis offers citizenship in exchange for a substantial investment in the country. The program is efficient, straightforward, and now includes the convenience of eTA access to Canada.
  2. Antigua and Barbuda: The twin-island nation boasts a CBI program that provides passport holders with visa-free travel to over 150 countries, now inclusive of eTA facilitated travel to Canada. Investing in Antigua and Barbuda not only offers an excellent lifestyle but also wide-ranging global mobility.
  3. St. Lucia: Offering one of the most cost-effective CBI programs, St. Lucia has just become even more attractive. The added benefit of simplified travel to Canada via eTA enhances the value proposition for prospective investors.

Antigua & Barbuda

Minimum Investment: $130,000

Visa-Free Travel: 151 Countries

St. Lucia

Minimum Investment: $100,000

Visa-Free Travel: 146 Countries

St. Kitts & Nevis

Minimum Investment: $150,000

Visa-Free Travel: 157 Countries

With this new development, investors can secure an unprecedented level of global access. By investing in these countries’ CBI programs, you are not only acquiring a second citizenship but also unlocking the opportunity for hassle-free travel to one of the world’s most sought-after destinations – Canada. This combination of investment, global mobility, and easier access to Canada makes these CBI programs a unique and compelling investment opportunity in the current landscape.

If visa-free access to Canada interest you? Contact us and we will guide you through the process of obtaining your second citizenship and opening a world of oppurtunities.


The Grenada CBI Unit’s transition to an entirely digital system is a significant step forward. It not only modernizes their operations but also reaffirms their commitment to sustainability.

By adopting a digital-first approach, Grenada not only provides applicants with a smoother application process, but also sets a precedent for other countries to emulate. This could mark the beginning of a more efficient era for citizenship by investment programs worldwide.

Scroll to Top